Searching for a Big Night

No Olympics? What do we do now?

Searching for a Big Night

The Olympics brought on a Go-America feeling this weekend for once, especially while doing my part: drinking beverages with friends to cheer on athletes who worked so hard to compete at the highest stage of their sports. Everybody has a role.

Waking up this morning to the lack of sports was a shot back to reality, though there was an unexpected European touch still in the Philly air. My Italian self had all eyes on the skies as the Italian Air Force took over for a flyover.

Great photo from the Philly Inquirer.

Fine photo from a seven story apartment building.

A pleasant surprise to say the least. And after watching these extremely well-trained pilots put on a show for all of Philly, I was ready to take on the week.

“Okay, cool? But what’s the Big Night deal?”

I promise there are connections here and I’m not just shaking my hand to the sky 🤌.

Many people know Stanley Tucci’s “Searching for Italy”, in which he travels all around the beautiful Italian countrysides and coast lines eating the best food around, sharing laughs, and soaking up the natural beauty. No pictures needed, or we may get upset (read: jealous) again.

BUT I’d argue not enough people know of a movie masterpiece starring a much younger Stanley Tucci plus a legendary cinema dish. Enter my favorite food movie: Big Night.

I won’t spoil it because I think everyone deserves to enjoy the simple fun between the two brothers, Primo and Segundo. Just to set the scene, the two take to America in the 1950s to open an Italian restaurant on the Jersey shore. All their hard work comes down to one night of service to impress the best, allegedly.

In the less-than-two-hour watch, you’ll be chuckling, dancing, and left hungry for a belly full of pasta.

Also, once you make sense of what that creation above possibly could be by watching the movie, take a look at Binging with Babish recreate the dish in one of his very early on videos.

“Get to the food, won’t you already?”

You think I could forget to share some recipes and the food from this week? Take it ease!

As an ode to Primo, I stuck with only one main for Sunday dinner and went for a fresh tomato risotto. (Yes, more tomatoes! Hard to resist.)

Risotto is one of those dishes that everyone says is hard to get down. To which I’d say, it’s hard to perfect, sure. But a home cooked meal with straightforward instructions? Just takes time! Do it while you can get your hands on those fresh tomatoes still.

Aside from that, I was able to sneak in some nice grilled wings, amidst the plenty of rain, to bake as leftovers throughout the week.

And since I’m sure those pictures are enough to convince you, now’s the time to tell you that I’ve recommended this recipe once, and I’ll do it again! Hailee Catalano’s Grilled Lemon Fennel Wings are 11/10 summer bites. And she’s even come out with some great looking Grilled Chicken with Salsa Verde Toma**** (you know the word.)

If all that seems like far too much work, and/or you just want a simple sweet treat, I leave you with one of my favorite cookie recipes for the most tasty, quickest chocolate chip cookies from Butternut Bakery.

While we may not be able to start our day with the Olympics any more, I think we can all get behind starting a day with a nice chocolate chip cookie. We don’t shame one bit. You earned it always, capisce?

Capisce. 🤌