Summer's Favorite Fruit

"Wet, sloppy" sandos and my first published recipe

Summer’s Favorite Fruit

Did you guess which fruit I was talking about before opening the email? If you’re mad already, I promise to make it up with the first personal recipe later in this email. And if that’s not enough… 🍅🍅 (tomato tomato).

This past weekend I visited Tomato Fest at a local farmers market in Malvern, PA. I’ll admit that I am spoiled in Philly with the Rittenhouse and Headhouse markets. There were a few quality looking tables filled with bright red and yellow tomatoes, so I grabbed a few varieties, along with some great looking shishitos for grilling.

My favorite part of tomatoes in the summer is just how easy they are to fit into simple meals. Salads, sandwiches, pastas, starters, toppings, mix-ins, you name it.

All last week I looked forward to Friday for one reason: getting my paws on the infamous BLT from Middle Child. Described on their very own website as “wet, sloppy, and best enjoyed within a few minutes of being made”, the monstrosity of a sandwich is not for a clean eater in all the best ways. The juice is loose, and all bets are off for the few minutes you lock in savoring this. If you can, get in line or find a seat at the clubhouse for this summer sandwich that deserves all its FAQs.

You can’t think a normal BLT the only version. For the adventurous, take on the BBLT, welcoming Burrata into the mix and needing ciabatta to enter the picture to reinforce the already “wet” sando. Even Lucy needed a few sniffs and attempted licks.

If anything, the BLT made me want MORE tomato sandwiches. Pair that craving with the stop at Tomato Fest, my mind was searching for red. I already planned on stopping into the Malvern Buttery for a baked good (or three). So what was the first thing in the case as I walked in?

Their summer sandwich special: a BLT with beautiful local tomatoes, lettuce, bacon and mayo sandwiched between fresh baked focaccia. That and a must-order kouign amann satisfied that craving and more.

What’s Cookin’

We’re staying on the vine here with some featured recipes. I have yet to make the kitchen sink tomato salad of Panzanella, but I look next to the tomatoes on my counter to the loaf bread on it’s final leg and I know this is happening this week. It’s a simple recipe that I can’t wait to make.

But no more waiting. Let’s get to the first recipe straight from this noggin.

Caprese Salad with a touch from Calabria

Like I’ve said before: no frills + crowd pleaser = perfect balance. This is a flexible recipe that combines fresh ingredients. Pull and spread burrata over the thin tomatoes and top with the twist of chopped Calabrian chili peppers. Finish it with some sliced or torn basil, olive oil, salt and pepper. That’s it. Looks good and tastes better. The best part about it is that you can plate it however you want, so take creative liberties however far you want.

Now here’s my first go at recipe writing, something that takes people years to get down. One piece of advice while cooking anything I share: do what feels right to you.

Ingredients

  • 2 - 3 Fresh Tomatoes, sliced about ¼ inch and in half – heirloom, beefsteak, slicing, or you could even use cherry tomatoes cut in half

  • Burrata

  • Calabrian Chili Peppers, chopped – I like the pre-chopped like this, found in the Italian aisle. If you can only find whole ones packed in oil, I’d say start with two or three. You can always add more.

  • Basil

  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil

  • Salt and Pepper

Directions

  1. Slice the tomatoes about a ¼ inch, then in half. I prefer to slice the tomato parallel to its bottom. So when slicing, the top would face to your left or right. I like the thin tomato that still has enough of a base to hold the burrata when eating. You can go thicker if you wish.

    1. Quick tip here: if you can find a serrated knife, these work best for slicing tomatoes easily. If not, and in general, make sure to use a back and forth sawing motion.

  2. Arrange tomato slices on the plate. Place the tomato slices overlapping in a circle to look like how I do mine, or just lay it all out there. Again, creative freedom.

  3. Salt tomato slices lightly. A little salt is the tomatoes best friend. You’ll salt it all in the end, but “season as you go” is the name of the game.

  4. Pull burrata over the tomato slices. Yes, literally take the ball of burrata and pull it in small pieces over the tomatoes. The different textures from the burrata offer a little mix up to each bite. Layer it out in different pieces or dollops, this is your canvas.

  5. Slice basil into thin strips, or tear it into small pieces. I like the long, stringy look of basil. To get this, I stack a few basil leaves, then starting with the long end, roll the leaves all the way. Then cut about a quarter inch again all the way down. Sprinkle over top the burrata and tomatoes. Not feeling like cutting? Tear away, my friend.

  6. Drop small dollops of the Calabrian chili peppers. Emphasizing small here. The Calabrian chilis can pack a punch, so even just letting the oil drop down will give a nice taste. And you can always add more.

  7. Finish with a quick drizzle of olive oil, some more salt and fresh ground pepper.

  8. Serve it up and dig in! Simple as that.

Can you tell there are different ways to do a relatively simple dish? I really do believe that cooking should be based on how and whatever you’re feeling. At the end of the day, simple ingredients paired together will taste great.

So there it is – my first published recipe. Who knew. Let me know what you think, or don’t… 🍅🍅.

Tomato Rapid Fire

Alright, you’re probably tired of the tomato talk. To wrap it up, we’re going for a rapid fire of some more highlights from what I’ve made and want to make:

First, I should probably shoutout Wishbone Kitchen’s Tomato Olympics because tis the seasons.

Pasta + fresh cherry tomatoes + garlic + olive oil + butter + grated cheese. That’s it.

I’ve made this throughout the years as a quick pantry pasta packed with flavor. Long pasta, short pasta, ravioli. We’ve done it all. It all works. And remember those Calabrian chili peppers from earlier? Those would go perfect in this for a little twist.

Look familiar? Gotta give it up for one of the most photogenic meals. It’s slightly a labor of love, BUT I TELL YOU IT’S WORTH IT. I’ve made both Andy Baraghani’s from Bon Appetit as well as Wishbone Kitchen’s (linked above because I owe the photo to that recipe).

I did say I was going to make a pasta last week, and that took the form of the Pasta Pomodoro. This one’s next… or the vodka sauce stuffed shells…… or the family sauce and meatballs.

🍅 How about one last tomato to go? I’d say that’s enough slices. I’ll take a note out of Middle Child’s book to sign off:

Stay “wet and sloppy” 🤘