Top 10 for Hitting Double Digits

Ten weeks that people have been actually opening these things. Let's break out the highlights.

Top 10 for Hitting Double Digits

Double digits?? This marks the tenth A Pinch Of Newsletter. Have to state it as a fact because this space throws thoughts from this brain into the world. It’s been fun to see and hear people even just bring it up. Pretty simple on both sides, and thankfully it’s felt like an easy 10 this far. Here’s to 10 more and whatever else comes after that. Without further ado, I present the first Top 10 to celebrate 10…

Top 10 Bites of 2024 (So Far)

Scrolling my camera roll to sort through this was like going to the grocery store hungry – I wanted everything in sight all at once, not thinking about any consequences.

At the same time, it definitely made me realize how much of my camera roll is of food, but also think about all the meals that I had when the phone didn’t eat first, or at all.

So while this list definitely was trimmed down to get to a true Top 10, there are many bites from my kitchen, around Philly and across the country that my taste buds would be happy to relive. Nonetheless, here goes my Top 10 Bites of 2024 (…in no particular order, of course!!).

Caesar Cutlet Sandwich and Tomato Pie from Liberty Kitchen

This Liberty Kitchen sandwich has been long overdue for its viral moment, and it’s been making its rounds across Philly socials. I’m a sucker for tomato pie and it was the perfect bites to round out half of this sandwich. Without that slice, the second half of the sandwich stood no chance. I’m a sucker for a good caesar and a sucker for a good cutlet. This time around, the sum is just as good as its parts (you know the phrase. you get the point. Now get the sandwich).

Believe it or not, the Biscoff cookie flavor isn’t just associated with airplane snacks. Speculoos, or cookie butter, fills this light loaf topped with a crumble to make an incredible slice(s). This Claire Saffitz recipe makes two loaves of babka, which I can only describe as a bread-ier version of a cinnamon roll that is uncut and wrapped up to create a swirled loaf. It’s like the grown-up version of Pepperidge Farms’ cinnamon swirl bread.

Decorated Carrot Cake

I combined my first carrot cake I made with my first ever decorated cake. I’d give myself an A for effort here, and an A+ for taste. This is one I’ve come back to time and time again since I made it back in April. The brown butter, moist cake and cream cheese frosting with some added looks? Sure thing. This cake kicked off the round cake vibe and I have since treated myself to round cake pans – don’t ask what I was doing before…

Zahav – June Menu

These pictures speak for themselves at one of the most well known restaurants around the city. This kitchen is special, and there are reasons why it’s so hard to get reservations and why people can relate so deeply through shared amazement. This lived up to every hope I’ve always had. A must. That is all to say.

English Muffins

I can’t say following Zahav with English muffins gives it the biggest spotlight. I have to gives these the credit they deserve though. I love a good homemade bagel as much as the next guy, but these compete! The blank canvas for a breakfast sando or the warm, toasted English muffin crevasses with butter both are even better than expected. I’ve certainly wondered how hard these would be to package and sell fresh (don’t see much at markets, but they keep well for a few days at least!)

Falafel Platter from Octopus Falafel

You’re probably looking at this and asking, “what the %&#@ is that?” Exactly. It’s tasty falafel, charred chicken, vegetables, fruit all over noodles. This cart in Center City changes the platters with the seasons, but the process is simple: bring your cash, be prepared to wait your turn in line, grab the platter and be on your way. It was so weird and so good that I ate it both for lunch and dinner that same day. For a wild read, here’s a Reddit thread with all sorts of reviews.

Ramp Ravioli

Marc Vetri’s most seasonal pasta recipe. Ramps, or wild garlic found right here in Philly in the early spring, stuffed into and sliced thinly on ravioli with some brown butter and lemon. Simple but packs a flavor that could only be described as “wild garlic”.

Machine Shop Baked Goods

Machine Shop in South Philly’s Bok Building has won its accolades with damn good reason. Talk about seasonal and always rotating. Each month they’re cranking out specials mixed with their classics, featuring one of my favorite chocolate chip cookies in the city. Others shown above are a double chocolate croissant, an egg danish and the seasonal orange marmalade kouign amann. Pro tip: if you can time it right, the canelle comes out at 10:30ish, per sources. That’s my next trip.

BBLT from Middle Child

I can only imagine everyone thought that I was done talking about tomatoes this year, but this is my highlight for all the tomatoes across the land: Middle Child’s Burrata BLT. The sloppy, wet sandwich is a short-lived Philly favorite.

Lobster Roll from Red’s Eats

I’ve chattered about it before, but this experience will always be one of my favorites and easily my best bite around. Red’s Eats, I think about you every day. This lobster roll is a star of my Death Row meal.

Honorable Mentions

You thought I could really limit to only 10? Maybe next time, but any good list has some honorable mentions, and these are all with good reason.

Sourdough Bread

Getting into the sourdough flow has been a highlight of the year and the flavor of fresh bread is so damn good. Gotta give it up to where it all started: my mom during 2020’s isolation.

Cheesesteak Bao Buns from Bing Bing Dim Sum (RIP)

If you were lucky enough to get into Bing Bing Dim Sum before it shut down back in July, you had the opportunity to try one of my favorite bites in Philly. This was something I always told people about if they were looking for a bite that shows off Philly. They had the cheesesteak twist figured out. No notes. You are missed, Bing Bing.

Safe to say that all of this content was both fun to consume and even better to look at. Almost everything listed above has been shared with friends and/or family, which is one of my favorite parts.

Notable part that the majority of homemade meals chosen were baked goods… could this be a tease of some sort of bake drop coming later this year? Who’s that speculating, ideating, or full of more ideas? Any who, here are 10 Thank You’s to you 🫵 for tuning in this far.

Treat yourself this week 🤘